CFAES Give Today
Ohio State ATI

CFAES Wooster


Three ATI Faculty Members are STARS

Submitted by Kris Boone,

Drs. Dominic Petrella, Uttara Samarakoon, and Jonathon Van Gray have been selected for the second cohort of the CFAES Office for Research & Graduate Education's STARS Program (Strategic Alignment for Research Success). STARS is an initiative to identify and develop the next generation of research leaders among early and mid-career tenure track faculty within the College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

The goal of the STARS Program is to propel emerging research leaders – those individuals with the interest, vision, and motivation – to take their research programs to a higher and more collaborative level.

The objectives of this six-month leadership program are to:

  • Facilitate the development of skills and a record of accomplishments to be competitive for major grants.
  • Develop the skills necessary to effectively build and manage large teams and projects.
  • Produce actionable roadmaps to pursue major external funding.
  • Network with colleagues, university leaders and public/private partners who can help advocate for and support the development of large, innovative, and impactful research programs.

Dr. Joy Rumble was selected last year as a member of the first cohort.